About Us - Diocesan Council

Per Canon 11 of the Diocesan Canons, the Diocesan Council shall be an executive body representative of the Church in this Diocese with power and authority to implement and carry into effect the policies and programs adopted by the Diocesan Convention and to act for the Convention between meetings thereof. The Council shall have overall responsibility for the Diocesan program and finances, and it shall provide for the efficient management of the business of the Diocese. It shall be an agency to relieve the Bishop of the Diocese insofar as practicable from the necessity of the detailed management of the business affairs of the Diocese.


The Rt. Rev. Samuel Johnson Howard, Bishop of Florida
email: jhoward@diocesefl.org

Vice Chair


The Rev. Lance Horne


E. Benjamin "Ben" Hill


Fred Issac, Esq.

Vice Chancellor

Hank Wilson, Esq.

Through 2018 Convention

The Rev. Thomas "Tom" P. Reeder
Leigh Coulter Beal
John "Jack" R. Tull

Through 2019 Convention

The Rev. Jerry Smith
Courtney Carter
Melanie Martin

Regional Canons

The Rev. Canon John Wesley - Apalachee
email: stpaulsquincy@comcast.net
The Rev. Canon B. Wiley Ammons - First Coast East
email: wiley@redeemerjax.org
The Rev. Canon Nancy S. Suellau - First Coast West
email: nsuellau@stmarksjacksonville.org
The Rev. Canon Dr. David J. Weidner - River
email: FrDavid@TrinityEpiscopalParish.org
The Rev. Canon Lance C. Horne - Santa Fe
email: lastmango68@gmail.com